top of page

TREASURES OF MAGICAL WUKANG ROAD


Shanghai is a city full of history and historical buildings. However, even after almost 3 years spent here, there are still places I haven’t visited. I am fortunate enough ,though, that last year I got extremely lucky and thanks to my thoughtful Chinese teacher, I found a small but cozy place of abode in the heart of French concession. Living in this area and my daily walks to and from work as well as my grocery shopping trips exposed me to many hidden treasures in my neighborhood. And the one I value the most is Xuhui Historical Building Art Center , which is also Wukang Road Tourist Information center.

First of all, it is situated in charming Wukand road, which always gives me this magical impression of a fairy tale and feeling like I am not really in China, because of the mix of French Reneissance, Mediterranean, English and Art Deco architecture of all the buildings, small cafes and little shops spread all over. The lines of wutong ( London plane) trees on both sides of the street add to the enchantment.

Secondly, it is free and open every day, even during festivals. Inside you can see the maquettes of all the historical buildings in Xuhui district, so you plan your own sightseeing tour and easily recognize the noteworthy spots.The address is 393 Wukang Road. What’s more , you can find numerous leaflets that will help you recognize Shanghai’s signature foods, landmarks in various districts as well as outside the city.

The long weekend is coming so if you have no plans yet, just come over to Wukang Road and you will quickly get inspired – to discover or re-discover 上海.

bottom of page