top of page

YOGA WITH A TWIST AT ChiQi WELLNESS STUDIO


Physical exercise for me is not just a way of staying in shape. It mainly helps me keep my emotional balance and keep my sanity whenever the outside world bends over backwards to challenge it.

Usually jogging and some ‘traditional’ yoga at home do the job , but if you are thrown into the middle of green tea bitch drama at your office like I was a couple of weeks ago, then you need something more outstanding. Fortunately, the thought of coming to AERIAL YOGA session at ChiQi Wellness after one of the most annoying weeks of my working life in China helped me survive.

Aerial yoga, also called ‘ANTI-GRAVITY YOGA’ is a ‘newcomer’ in the yoga world. It was ‘born’ in New York and the ‘father’ of this amazing type of workout is aerial performer Christopher Harisson – a former gymnast and Broadway choreographer.

We – Shanghailanders - now have the possibility to try this amazing workout thanks to Katrina Law - the managing director of Chi-Qi Wellness situated in Jingan. She brought Aerial – Yoga to Shanghai last year in April 2014.

Katrina started practicing Anti- Gravity yoga in 2009 in New York. Back then it was just her hobby and passion as her career was, and still is revolving around fashion. Then, Kate turned her passion into a career , opening a yoga studio from ground up, and leveraged her creativity to design it and gave it a look of a colorful New York gallery.

Now, this impressive, petite strong woman doesn’t only make sure that you hang in there properly , but also manages daily operations, creates marketing and branding strategy to promote the studio and stays in charge of human resources to make sure everyone who joins the class is provided with highly qualified professionals.

The most striking difference between AERO yoga and all other types you have heard of or tried before, is that it requires a special kind of hammock, which can support up to 300 kilos of weight. The rig consists of support chains, a webbing strap , a silk hammock ( which gives you this awesome soft feel) and carabiners

(metal loops with a spring – loaded gate used to quickly and reversibly connect components). Maybe sounds complicated, but the result is very safe fix that brings typical yoga poses to a whole different level.

Now – this is how it works : the support chains hang down from the ceiling to less than one meter from the floor. The hammock is connected at the height preferred by you – usually between waist and shoulder. It acts like a swing or a soft trapeze which supports your hips as you bend forward and back.

Aerial yoga is a mix of exercises inspired by yoga , Pilates, Calisthenics ( a series of gross motor movements like jumping, swinging, twisting) and aerial acrobatics. To me, the greatest part is the use of hammock that helped me keep the balance. I have been doing yoga for 4 years ( with some short breaks, but I still keep some stretching positions a part of my daily exercise at home),but I always find it most challenging when I need to stand on one leg and keep the other one stretched in the air, and additionally wrap my arms around myself. Aerial yoga is the perfect solution for me, because the silk hammock prop helps me achieve proper postures and alignment.

It immediately reminded me of my childhood, when I was doing all kinds of crazy swings and twists on the carpet beating rack (as all the kids my age used to do back in Poland ). Here, when you try it first, you might not trust the hanging fabric, because it seems so soft but believe me – the whole fix is really stable. So twisting and even standing on it in the air to do different poses is really safe – you just need to get rid of the inhibitions in your head that might block you . And rely on the directions given by one of the great instructors at ChiQi Wellness like I did on Katrina’s.

Quick summary of health benefits:

  • It is a total body workout

  • Inner body reactivation

  • Psychological benefits

  • Develops new body skills

  • It is spiritually uplifting

And what’s more - at the end of the class you get to have a well deserved relaxation in the mid air, lying in the hammock as the delicate sounds of music are wafting around.

I left the 70 minute class completely relieved and peaceful, with a firm resolution of making Anti-gravity yoga a regular element of my lifestyle. Plus , hopefully trying many other classes they offer, for example pole dancing!

What I like about this place and what makes it really stand out is that besides the regular classes, ChiQi organizes regular , free events to bring their community together - including movie nights, parties and health workshops. Their motto ‘ We are always here for you with tips and tricks for health and happiness’

Well, in my case – worked 100% because on Monday after that great yoga session the green tea bitch drama was solved and hopefully I will never need to deal with them again;) Might be coincidence, or good karma I brought from ChiQi ;)Physical exercise for me is not just a way of staying in shape. It mainly helps me keep my emotional balance and keep my sanity whenever the outside world bends over backwards to challenge it. Usually jogging and some ‘traditional’ yoga at home do the job , but if you are thrown into the middle of green tea bitch drama at your office like I was a couple of weeks ago, then you need something more outstanding. Fortunately, the thought of coming to AERIAL YOGA session at ChiQi Wellness ,after one of the most annoying weeks of my working life in China, helped me survive. Aerial yoga, also called ‘ANTI-GRAVITY YOGA’ is a ‘newcomer’ in the yoga world. It was ‘born’ in New York and the ‘father’ of this amazing type of workout is aerial performer Christopher Harisson – a former gymnast and Broadway choreographer. We – Shanghailanders - now have the possibility to try this amazing workout thanks to Katrina Law - the managing director of Chi-Qi Wellness situated in Jingan. She brought Aerial – Yoga to Shanghai last year in April 2014. Katrina started practicing Anti- Gravity yoga in 2009 in New York. Back then it was just her hobby and passion as her career was, and still is revolving around fashion. Then, Kate turned her passion into a career , opening a yoga studio from ground up, and leveraged her creativity to design it and gave it a look of a colorful New York gallery. Now, this impressive, petite strong woman doesn’t only make sure that you hang in there properly , but also manages daily operations, creates marketing and branding strategy to promote the studio and stays in charge of human resources to make sure everyone who joins the class is provided with highly qualified professionals. The most striking difference between AERO yoga and all other types you have heard of or tried before, is that it requires a special kind of hammock, which can support up to 300 kilos of weight. The rig consists of support chains, a webbing strap , a silk hammock ( which gives you this awesome soft feel) and carabiners ( metal loops with a spring – loaded gate used to quickly and reversibly connect components). Maybe sounds complicated, but the result is very safe fix that brings typical yoga poses to a whole different level. Now – this is how it works : the support chains hang down from the ceiling to less than one meter from the floor. The hammock is connected at the height preferred by you – usually between waist and shoulder. It acts like a swing or a soft trapeze which supports your hips as you bend forward and back. Aerial yoga is a mix of exercises inspired by yoga , Pilates, Calisthenics ( a series of gross motor movements like jumping, swinging, twisting)and aerial acrobatics. To me the greatest part is the use of hammock that helped me keep the balance. I have been doing yoga for 4 years ( with some short breaks, but I still keep some stretching positions a part of my daily exercise at home),but I always find it most challenging when I need to stand on one leg and keep the other one stretched in the air, and additionally wrap my arms around myself. Aerial yoga is the perfect solution for me, because the silk hammock prop helps me achieve proper postures and alignment. It immediately reminded me of my childhood, when I was doing all kinds of crazy swings and twists on the carpet beating rack (as all the kids my age used to do back in Poland ). Here, when you try it first, you might not trust the hanging fabric, because it seems so soft but believe me – the whole fix is really stable. So twisting and even standing on it in the air to do different poses is really safe – you just need to get rid of the inhibitions in your head that might block you . And rely on the directions given by one of the great instructors at ChiQi Wellness like I did on Katrina’s. Quick summary of health benefits: 1) It is a total body workout 2) Inner body reactivation 3) Psychological benefits 4) Develops new body skills 5) It is spiritually uplifting And what’s more - at the end of class you get to have a well deserved relaxation in the mid air, lying in the hammock as the delicate sounds of music are wafting around.

I left the 70 minute class completely relieved and peaceful, with a resolution of making Anti-gravity yoga a regular element of my lifestyle. Plus , hopefully trying many other classes they offer, for example pole dancing !

What I like about this place and what makes it really stand out is that besides the regular classes, ChiQi organizes regular , free events to bring their little community together - including movie nights, parties and health workshops. Their motto ‘ We are always here for you with tips and tricks for health and happiness’

Well, in my case – worked 100% because on Monday after that great yoga session the green tea bitch drama was solved and hopefully I will never need to deal with them again;) Might be coincidence, or good karma I brought from ChiQi ;)

bottom of page