top of page

CHINA FROM THE SWISS STANDPOINT - INTERVIEW WITH A TALENTED YOUNG SINGER SOPHIE de QUAY


Where are you from and in why did you decide to leave your country for China?

I am from Switzerland but I grew up in Switzerland, Singapore and in New York. Since I got back to Switzerland when I was 16. I was always interested in learning Chinese. After my high school I studied Chinese for a year in the University of Geneva. I then studied at a Hotel Management School for which I had to do an internship in order to graduate and decided to go to Shanghai to improve my Mandarin.

How did you prepare for your move to China?

Since I have been living for 5 years in Singapore, although it is very different I knew the cultural differences and knew what to expect. At least that's what I thought because, still now after having lived 6 months in Shanghai I am still surprised every day.

How long have you been here and what keeps you here?

My internship lasted 6 months, I then went back to Switzerland for a month and a half and came back for 3 months of intensive Chinese classes. I love the city Shanghai, I feel everything is possible here. Every day we are witnesses of that city's development and it is fascinating. It is also a city full of contrasts. You can walk from Pudong to the old town and you are in two completely different worlds. I like to travel, to discover and learn from other cultures. In 6 months I hardly went to the same place or restaurant twice. I had the chance to work only with Chinese people and I learned so much culturally and humanly. I also like the fact that Chinese people don't really judge other people. You can dress the way you want, do your taichi in the park, and sing in the streets, no one cares! The big majority of the foreigners I meet here are open minded and interesting because there is a reason why they decided to move to China. It is a step to take.

Was Shanghai your first choice and why?

It was my first choice. I had been studying in Beijing for a month four years ago and wanted to discover something new. Some friends had been to Shanghai and loved it. I was curious about discovering that city, I liked the name, read a little bit about it and decided to go.

I have read that besides Switzerland, Singapore, New York and Paris were the cities you were growing up in. From your perspective, how is Shanghai similar or different from them?

New York and Paris are also big cities and I like big cities. Shanghai is different because as a foreigner you have the challenge and opportunity to experience and learn about a completely different culture and language. Singapore is also in Asia but it is way more westernized. It is very different from Switzerland that is a quiet little country, it was great to go back for a month after 6 months here, breathe the fresh air and enjoy the sound of silence in the mountains. The similarity with Geneva, the place where I live in Switzerland, is that both cities are very international.

What do you do here?

I study Mandarin at the Mandarin Garden school then I will follow the summer program at Jiaotong University. I also try to make music as much as I can. There are a lot of jam sessions going on in the city where I have the opportunity to meet and to play with amazing musicians from everywhere in the world.

Has China or Shanghai influenced your song writing and how?

I also had the need to write. I wanted to write a song about China but honestly I didn't know where to start so I started writing every day, since the day I was in the plane on my way to Shanghai. I try to write on the emotion right after something particular happens to me. I give all the details, I describe the smells, the tastes, the situations anything that I want to remember about my experience here. I also have a lot of funny stories. I am currently rewriting everything and I hope I can publish it when I get back to Switzerland. I also created a page on facebook "Sophie in China" to share some experiences and pictures with my friends and anyone interested.

I have read on your website sophiedequay.com that you find inspiration in various encounters – can you tell me about any special encounter in Shanghai that particularly inspired you?

A lot of people in Shanghai inspire me because they are from so many different countries, backgrounds, professions; I feel I'm learning every day from every encounter I make. John- a singer that opened a bar "Karma"- is one of the people that inspires me. He is very talented, told me at first he was coming to Shanghai for a few days and stayed over 10 years. He is a great musician and organizes jam sessions in his bar every Thursday where every customer feels at home. He organized the first music week, "fête de la musique" in Shanghai.

I got inspired by my Chinese coworkers as well. People I wouldn't have ever meet if I didn't work in China. Their lives are not as easy as ours, they were 8-10 sleeping in the same room in the second basement and they always had a smile. I remember an old man was trying to talk to me but didn't know a word of English and I also spoke a bit of Mandarin, we were drawing to understand each other. It was a special moment.

Have you performed your songs in Shanghai or other cities in China and how was it comparing to other countries where you were giving your concerts?

I played at the jam sessions in Karma, Stazione, House of blues & jazz where it is always so spontaneous, it feels great and people go there because they like music so the atmosphere is always great. I also played once in front of a Chinese audience, it is weird at first because they do not show any emotions, they stand without moving, film and take pictures but it is hard to know whether they are enjoying or disliking the music.

I know that Switzerland is a country where order is one of the most important things – how did you feel coming to the country which is the total opposite of your home?

You learn to be patient in China :) you have to be cool, have a good sense of humour, and know how to laugh about yourself and not to take things too seriously.

What was the most difficult obstacle for you at the beginning and how did you adapt?

The barrier of the language. Although I had a few basis, on my first day of internship I attended an hour and a half of meeting in Chinese where I was the only foreigner. I had to manage a team and each time I said something they would say yes even if they didn’t understand. Some of the people I was working with didn't speak a word of English. It was a great challenge. I adapted by speaking and learning the most Chinese I could.

Do you feel at home here now and what helps you feel this way?

Yes I do. My philosophy is to take everything as an experience. Sometimes I stay speechless facing some situations but then I just laugh about it and tell myself to live fully every single moment of that experience because they will all be memories.

Is there anything China does better than your home - country?

They are more advanced on e-commerce, e-marketing, online shopping (I wish I could fluently read Chinese characters because taobao really seems amazing!!)

Is there any food typical for Switzerland and can you find it here? If so, then what is it and where do you find it?

Cheese & chocolate! You can find them in my fridge ;) At one point this year I really could’ve opened a Swiss shop ! More seriously, some of them you can find in city shop but it never tastes as good as the ones at home.

Did you have any favorite cosmetic back in Switzerland and can you find it here? If not, how do you replace it?

For the creams (day, night, eyes, masks..) I use the brand Nescens that I can't find here. I bring them from home because most of the creams here are whitening …and I already have a very light skin! I brought all of my cosmetics from home, some of the makeup I use I could buy it here but it is so much more expensive with the taxes.

When I came to China, I noticed that my hair and nails started growing faster. How about you? Did you experience any physical changes after coming here?

At the beginning my skin suffered a bit from the pollution, I had weird kind of pimples I had never had…thank god it didn't last long!

What was the craziest /weirdest thing that happened to you here?

The director (Chinese) of the hotel where I did my internship asked me on my last day if we could have lunch together at the staff canteen. Of course I said yes. We started eating and like most the the Chinese when they have a chicken or fish bone in their mouth they spit it in their plate or on the table…his chicken bone ended up in my soup..I was speechless.

How would you describe your life in China in 3 adjectives or in 1 sentence?

Fast, full of surprises, inspirational.

Do you have any advice for other Swiss girls coming here, or generally to girls from any country?

Be open minded, spontaneous, take every situation as an experience, meet locals, forget the makeup and brushing in the summer its too humid ;), learn a few words of Chinese and you'll have the time of your life!

The last question – when can we see your next performance?

I am looking for musicians with whom I could performs and get gigs in Shanghai, before that this is in place, come to the Jam Sessions on Thursdays at Karma: 7, Donghu Lu and follow me on Facebook : Sophie de Quay !

Thank you :)


bottom of page