top of page

Spaniard conquers Shanghai - an interview with fashion designer and wine promoter - Marta Valdespino


First stadard question : where are you from and when did you start your adventure with China,Shanghai?

I am from Spain and I started 1 year ago.

Is it easy for a girl from sunny Spain to move to Shanghai?

It is not easy especially when it is raining which is frequent in SH.

What brought you to China?

My work and my curiosity to see the world.

What are you doing here and is the same thing you used to do before coming to China?

Currently I am promoting Emilio Moro wine and before was living in Philippines doing the same. However when I lived in Spain, I was working with my own fashion brand Marta Valdespino. You can still see some of my designs online.

Is it easy to change the career path? And do you think it is maybe easier, more feasible in China than in any other country?

Not easy but sometimes you need a change. China offers you many opportunities but you must be aware which one ( suits you best). Also China is recently discovering the rest of the world and loves to get best quality products from abroad.

When I came to Shanghai in 2012, my friend I met here told me back then ‘Shanghai is a men’s world’ – do you agree? Is it a place mainly for men to do business here or do women have equal chances? Why or why not?

Yes, I agree with that. Unfortunately, in some towns they still think that men must work and the women must take care of the family . They are not used to facing women with a high profile but thanks God this is changing.

Could you live in any other place in China besides Shanghai? Do you imagine yourself living in a small Chinese town, without all the conveniences we have here?

Honestly I am not ready for such a big change in my life. The culture is very different.

What 3 words come to your mind when you think of Shanghai ( besides international, of course – let’s make it a bit more challengingJ ?

Fashion, strong competition, trendy city.

My favorite question – could you tell us about the craziest/most memorable adventure that happened to you in Shanghai?

After one of my wine dinners in a small city but very rich, I was invited to a famous KTV. When I was singing, suddenly many young girls entered the room and each man chose one. They asked me if I wanted a man for myself as well. You can imagine my face….. I'm still in shock. Sorry I am not used to doing that and never will,hahah.

Is expat life difficult for you? Do you feel at home in Shanghai – and if yes, what helps you feel this way here?

Not really. Yes in fact it is my home now. What makes me feel more like home in SH is drinking Emilio Moro wine, eating Spanish food and having drinks with my Spanish friends .

Do you have any favorite spot in Shanghai where you can recharge yourself after a busy week?

Badminton of course !

What does it take to succeed in Shanghai?

To be able to meet people from many countries and to listen their Shanghai stories, especially the reasons why they came to this city! I love that!

What are the differences between doing business in China and in Spain?

Spanish people are very direct and fast. If they like something, they say it immediately, if not , the same. Here the people take time to say yes or not, because they don't trust you at the beginning.

What life lesson or lessons did you learn while living in China?

I learned how to adapt to the big contrasts in the country. One day you are in a luxury dinner of the famous hotel and next day you are traveling in the oldest train going to Gobi desert full of poor people.

What advice would you give to a girl from Spain or any other girl who is considering leaving all her life she has built in her home country and thinks of a new start abroad? How should she prepare for that? Is there some age in a woman’s life when you think it is to late to start a new life?

My advice is to jump on the opportunity to live abroad because this is the best master you must have in your life: learn how to survive alone, meet different people and culture - this is the real life ! I encourage them to move abroad when your body asks for new experience and you feel ready, not before.

bottom of page