top of page

MULTITALENTED PERFORMER AND BAGUA MENTOR - MEET JOY NATIVIDAD


Where are you from?

I have Philippine origins and am born and raised in Germany.

What do you do?

My actual university major is International management and Chinese but I have always been a dancer in heart since I was small.

I started to dance when I was six and a half years old. I attended ten years of ballet school under the training of Royal Dance Academy. When I was 12, I saw the video of Janet Jackson 'Rythm Nation' and new since then that I didn’t want to become a ballerina, I wanted to dance like Janet Jackson. I continued training in other styles Jazz, modern, Street and Hip Hop.

What brought you to China?

When I was 16 years old I already knew that I always wanted to go to China and therefore I have put all my study focus in that direction. During that time German education was opening more and more towards the option to focus on China market. I've been always traveling since I was a child and I always had the cravings to live abroad. I was always seeking adventures and did different things than others. In 1998, for example, I just went to Nigeria, as I had an aunt who owned a hospital there. I just wanted to take this opportunity to explore and go out. It was the first time I went out of Europe on my own. My family and even my doctor was against it - my attitude was 'why not? I have nothing to loose!

When was the first time you came to China?

The first time I went to China/Beijing was 1998 due to a Chinese culture exchange program.

In 2003, after my studies, I went again and started to work at a dance company named Jazz Du Funk and continued further training in Jazz, Cabaret, Street and Hip Hop.

How is China/shanghai now - in 2015 different from the one you found coming here for the first time in 1998?

1998 I was in Beijing, compared to now it has lost a lot of its charm. The city itself has changed so much, a lot of the hutongs and open markets are gone. The same in Shanghai, when I arrived in 2003, there was huge open fake market in the intersection of Shaanxi and Huahai rd. Then they removed it and for years the was a huge construction site that seemed forever. Now we have a huge shopping mall 'IAMP' filling the space. Quick change in the city has never stopped and is still 'freakinglishly ' ongoing. This quick change though also means a quick change in terms of convenience. We have better transportation now...much better! I started in Shanghai off with 3 subway lines....now I believe we have 16?!?!!!! More varieties in western restaurants and cafes and also in terms of fun/sport activities. The city has become more commercial, much more than before!

And how about the change when it comes to lifestyle? Now, in 2015, Shanghai is the most conevnient Chinese city to live and there are parties 7 days a week, till morning hours.Was it the same back in 2003? Did foreigners enjoy their life in Shanghai just like they do now?

Yes, there was party all the time 24/7 back then too. I even would say party then was more fun an authentic, less commercial. I must say everything that time was new too. All the clubs that are well known now, just opened back then and the vibe was complete different to today, I would say more fun. Foreigners were still quite new to the city and were more interested into the culture. Now it's mostly about business, it has truly become a metropolitan city. My favorite place at that time to party was the one and only 'Pegasus' ( best Hip hop club in town - now LINX), Park 97 (Lan Kwai Fong group) known for great live performance and great parties and of course Mao ming lu. This street was the best place for party. On both sides great great restaurants and party venues People from all over and different age groups came here to party. Alone or in a group, this place was always fun!

Is there anything you dislike about Shanghai and if so , how do you deal with it? Not really, in every country there is always something that is different from what we are used to. If I find something that I dislike, I see it more as a reflection of what I dislike about me. I have chosen to be in this country and it helped me to work a lot on my self and to be more patient. Instead of focusing on judgement, I have learned to respect, accept and understand the bigger picture of this culture, even though it wasn't always easy. The key is to be open to exchange . Dont take yourself so God damn serious and get off your high horse!

Many say it is difficult to develop real friendships here because people keep coming and going - how has it been for you? Its true. It's been heart breaking in the beginning of the first few years, when I had close friends leaving China on a regular basis. From the beginning of my time, there is only a handful that stayed in Shanghai but fortunately these are also a 'Brady bunch' that I would call as my family, can rely on all the time! I believe in law of attraction. If you want to attract real good friends, then you will find them. As long you are open to it! I am thankful that I have really good friends out here!

How did your career in China develop?

I have been working and performing with a well known Michael Jackson impersonator, Michael Ide Soumana (former Tempo Production) who has been working in China more than 16 yrs on Michael Jackson shows. Since then I have been working in the entertainment industry until now, mainly as a dancer, teacher, and choreographer.

In 2006 I opened a dance school with a French Choreographer Tidiane Montout and expanded in the year of 2008 to an Artist/Event Agency ‘The Jam’ together with a talented Dutch Dj and Sound Director Arjen Frank.

In 2010 I decided to train myself more in singing. 2012 I started to tour in China for alcohol brands like Chivas and Budweiser, performing in clubs, dancing and singing and performing with backup dancers.

In 2012 I met a French producer Renaud Bierent who believed in my talent and we created an EP Joy N' Joy, with original tracks. We launched it last year in Summer in Kwaitan, a well known Restaurant/Lounge venue at the Bund in Shanghai. At this time I felt very fulfilled as I was able to manifest whatever I dreamed of. I was dancing and singing, created my own album and music videos.

All in all, I have 12 years dance and performance experience all over in China, performing in all sorts of event, from club openings, corporate events, dinner galas, concerts, Expo, exhibitions to private events etc.

What makes it special about Shanghai that made you stay here?

Shanghai is a great platform to learn and experience all about what you are passionate about. I have learned a lot and everything about the entertainment business, from any possible angle. From a dancer, choreographer, singer and manager in most areas in this field.

What advice would you give to young girls coming to Shanghai ,who also want to have careers in entertainment industry? Be open minded and be able to accept organized chaos. Everything is possible here, just keep on pushing and be patient. Competition between artist is super big, so you better bring something fresh and different to the table. Always try to be ten steps ahead since 'copy paste' is big here too...and last but not least: Guanxi guanxi guanxi! !!!

It seems like you are doing so many things that every minute within a day is filled for you. Do you still have free time and how do you spend it?

During my free time I also studied Bagua, Chinese martial art form for 8 years. I discovered my master Ming Qian Bo 2007, he was practicing in a Park in Shanghai. I immediately fell in love with this Bagua form, as its movements are beautiful and graceful like a swimming Dragon – therefore it’s called Imperial Dragon Bagua.

You have been in Shanghai for a looong time – how did you change as a person here?

Before I was more self oriented. All the stuff that I did was for myself and my audience, to entertain my audience. My goal has shifted. Of course I am still doing stuff for me, I am more health oriented now but I have developed the attitude that I want to share. My ‘I’ has shifted to ‘We’. We already live in a society where most people are just concentrated on themselves. We are forgetting that we are one –one with the world. I believe my time that I am focusing on stage is better spent on sharing and helping the community and environment. I still love performing but I decided that it’s time now to spend my time in healing and sharing movements that are profitable for anyone who wants to achieve balance within body, soul and mind.

Stay tuned for the next article about Joy’s brand new project – Black Dragon Bagua classes and how you can help Million Tree project by attending Joy’s Class!

bottom of page