top of page

She loves it or she loves it not?! - Sachi - a Japanese girl in China!


Where are you from and why did you decide to come to China?

I’m from Japan,Fukuoka ( southern part of Japan). I came here because I wanted to work in a foreign country.

What do you do here and was it easy for you to find a job in Shanghai?

I’m teaching Japanese at school. It’s not too hard to get a job of teaching Japanese in China

Do you still remember your very first day in China/Shanghai and what was it like?

Yes, I clearly remember that day, Chinese taxi’s speed is quite impressed me. lol

Do you think it is easier for you, as an Asian, to adapt to life in China than to other foreigners? Are there any similarities between Chinese and Japanese lifestyles?

I think so. Because Japanese people can understand some of the characteristics of Chinese words even when we never studied Chinese. It’s very helpful in daily life in China for Japanese people.

Is it easy for you to make friends with Chinese people?

Yes. They are quite interested in Japanese culture. For example, when I say, I’m Japanese, they say that they know Japanese animation, cartoon, food, digital stuff and car or something like that…

What do you like the most and the least about Shanghai? And how do you deal with it?

I love Shanghai because Shanghai is an international city so I can meet many kinds of cool people. But it’s not only the city but also the Chinese culture. I don't really like the crowds of people everywhere I go.

Is there something about China that Japanese people could learn from and what are the things about Japan that you think China should adopt? In your opinion of course!

The Chinese delivery system is so cool. Like eleme etc. So I think Japan should learn it from China.

You can see clean public toilets anywhere in Japan. So I hope China will learn it one day too.

What do you miss the most about Japan?

I miss Japanese food so much!!

How about your eating habits – do you eat mostly Japanese food or did you get to like Chinese cuisine?

When I eat at home, I will cook Japanese food. But I like Chinese food also.

When I was living in Jilin (North China) I used to eat outside at Chinese restaurant and I liked that. But when I was living in Chonqing(middle east China), I couldn’t eat spicy Chinese food too much.

It's what I like about Chinese culture - the differences among foods in different regions here.

What are the differences between working environment in Japan and China?

I think there is too much overtime work in Japan. It’s one of bad habits in Japan.

Who is better Japanese language student : Chinese people or other foreigners?

Of course a Chinese student. Because they can read and understand some Japanese characteristic.

So they learn reading and writing skills more easily than foreigners.

Has the life in China changed you in any way?

Shanghai is a city of a very unique balance where East meets West. I think my perspective is affected by this unique culture too, slightly in my way of thinking.

What is your favorite Chinese tradition?

Strong family connection. I can see almost anywhere in China that grand mother and grand father take care of their grand kids.

What are the 3 words that come to your mind when you think ‘shanghai’?

Cool, Expensive, Busy.

Everyone at some point, or quite frequently , gets frustrated because of Chinese reality.What do you do when you have ‘bad China day to cheer yourself up?

Just go out for a drink with my friend to forget everything!

Is it important for you– and if yes – why? – to meet other Japanese people living here regularly? How do you find them?

Yes! Because here are many opportunities to meet and make new friends or business connections. Much easier than in Japan! And We can exchange our Shanghai experience.

Do you remember the strangest thing that happened to you in China/Shanghai?

I lost a phone in Chonqing but somehow I got it back from a stranger who found it.

What advice would you give to a Japanese girl coming to find a job in Shanghai? Or any other foreign girl coming here to have a career? How can they enjoy their lives here?

Do a research on the internet before you come to China. But remember - you can’t open some of the SNS or site in China. So you should tell your family of friends to download Wechat!


bottom of page